SOUTH AFRICA: BRICS Nationals Eligible for 10 Year Business Visas

Earlier this year, the Minister of the Department of Home Affairs in South Africa has announced that business travellers from 3 of the other 4 BRICS countries – Russia, India and China – are eligible to be issued long-term multiple-entry visas (for up to 10 years).

This new measure extends to applicants holding diplomatic, official/services and ordinary passports, who apply for visas to visit South Africa for business purposes. It is important to note that Brazilian passport holders are already part of the Department of Home Affairs” visa waiver/exemption program and do not require visas prior to travel for business visits of up to 90 days.

The Department of Home Affairs believes that this significant step will tremendously enhance South Africa”s efforts to increase trade and investment between BRICS countries.

BRICS is the acronym for five major emerging national economies – Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa. The BRICS members are all developing or newly industrialised countries and are distinguished by their large, fast-growing economies. As of 2014, the five BRICS countries represent almost 3 billion people, or approximately 40% of the world population.

Qualifying business travellers will receive a “Port of Entry Visa” valid for up to ten years to allow for visits of up to 30 days at a time. Port of Entry Visas are issued by South African consulates abroad, but are subject to the decision of the immigration authorities at the port of entry, who may or may not grant entry. Once in possession of the “Port of Entry Visa”, the holder can make multiple trips to South Africa within the validity period, for stays of up to 30 days at a time.

If you have any questions about South African immigration, please contact us.

Contact Newland Chase