INDIA: E-Services Extended Nationally to All FRROs

April 16, 2018

Effective immediately, India’s Bureau of Immigration (BOI) has rolled out nationally its new e-FRRO system for online visa-related services.

Foreign nationals touring India no longer need to physically visit the office of the Foreigners Registration Office (FRO) or the Foreigners Regional Registration Office (FRRO) for visa-related services including registration and visa extension, visa conversion and exit permits, which are now available online via the e-FRRO platform.

Since February 2018, the system has been run as a pilot in four FRROs (Bangalore, Chennai, Delhi and Mumbai) and it has now been extended to the remaining eight FRROs (Kolkata, Amritsar, Hyderabad, Cochin, Thiruvananthapuram, Calicut, Lucknow and Ahmedabad). However, it has not yet been implemented at FRO centres such as Gurgaon, Pune and Chandigarh.

Note that all holders of employment visas, dependent visas and journalist visas are required to register with the relevant FRRO/FRO within 14 days of arrival in India. 

Our Advice

Foreign nationals requiring visa services from FRROs in India should register for an account here.


For advice and information on immigration to India in general, please email us at