Taiwan joins the Tier 5 Youth Mobility Scheme

January 3, 2012

Through changes to the Immigration Rules on 1 January 2012, Taiwan is now a participant in the UK’s youth mobility scheme under Tier 5 of the points-based system.

The other countries participating in the scheme are Australia, Canada, New Zealand, Japan and Monaco.

The scheme is for young people from participating countries and territories who want to come and experience life in the UK. Every year, the UK government allocates a number of places on the youth mobility scheme for each country and territory.

For 2012, Taiwan, Japan and Monaco will each receive an allocation of 1,000 places. This is in line with the number of places offered to UK nationals on their reciprocal schemes.

Australia, Canada and New Zealand’s allocations will match the number of UK nationals who were issued visas on their reciprocal schemes in the previous year:
• Australia – 32,500 places
• Canada – 5,000 places
• New Zealand – 10,000 places

For details of the scheme, please visit the UK Border Agency”s Tier 5 (Youth mobility scheme) section.