UNITED STATES: Entry Ban Extended to Schengen States, UK and Ireland

March 12, 2020

The president has announced the suspension of entry for travelers of any nationality who have been in the Schengen area in the previous 14 days. Effective midnight US EST on Monday 16 March (04:00 GMT Tuesday 17 March), the travel ban is extended to the United Kingdom and Ireland.

Which countries are affected?

The Schengen area includes Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

European countries which are not in the Schengen area, and are therefore not affected, are as follows:

Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus,  Bosnia & Herzegovina, Croatia, Cyprus, Georgia, Kosovo, North Macedonia, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Romania, Russia, San Marino, Serbia, Turkey, Ukraine and Vatican City.

The United Kingdom and Ireland are not in the Schengen area, but are affected by the travel ban, as outlined above.

Who is exempt?

The ban does not apply to US citizens or permanent residents (green card holders) or their family members.

The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) Acting Secretary has announced that he intends to issue a supplemental Notice of Arrivals Restriction requiring US passengers who have been in the Schengen Area to travel through select airports where the US Government has implemented enhanced screening procedures.

The ban does also not apply to C (transit) or D (air or sea crew member) non-immigrants.

When does this take effect?

This proclamation does not apply to persons aboard flights scheduled to arrive in the United States that departed prior to 11:59 pm eastern daylight time on Friday 13 March 2020. The president called it a 30-day travel ban in his speech, but the published presidential proclamation does not specify an end date for the suspension.


The president has previously issued proclamations restricting entry for travelers who have been in mainland China and Iran in the previous 14 days.

Regular visa services at US consulates in China and Italy are suspended.

Our Advice

Newland Chase’s immigration specialists around the world are on standby to advise and assist employers whose staff are affected by this developing situation. Please contact us.

For general advice and information on immigration and business travel to the US, please contact us.