UNITED STATES – TPS Reregistration Period Extended

September 11, 2023

On 8 September, the US Department of Homeland Security announced an extension of the Temporary Protected Status (TPS) reregistration period for citizens of six countries. The period was extended from 60 days to 18 months. The six countries covered by the extension are: El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, Nepal, Nicaragua and Sudan.

TPS allows migrants from countries deemed “unsafe” to live and work legally in the United States for a temporary, but extendable, period of time. There are approximately 350,000 individuals in the US covered by the TPS program.

With the extension, the registration deadlines for individuals from the affected countries are:

  • El Salvador — March 9, 2025
  • Haiti — Aug. 3, 2024
  • Honduras — July 5, 2025
  • Nepal — June 24, 2025
  • Nicaragua — July 5, 2025
  • Sudan — April 19, 2025

Affected individuals from these countries will need to submit both Form I-821, Application for Temporary Protected Status, and Form I-765, Application for Employment Authorization, before the dates listed for their home country above.

Immigration Insights

This immigration update is for informational purposes only and is not a substitute for legal or scenario-specific advice. Furthermore, it is important to note that immigration announcements are subject to sudden and unexpected changes. Readers are encouraged to reach out to Newland Chase for any case- or company-specific assessments.