CHINA – Visa Exemption Expanded to Include Australia, New Zealand, Poland

July 1, 2024

By: Patricia Clarino

On June 25, 2024, China’s Foreign Ministry announced an expansion of its visa exemption policy to citizens of New Zealand, Australia, and Poland.

Starting July 1, 2024, until December 31, 2025, individuals holding ordinary passports from these countries can enter China without a visa for stays of up to 15 days. This policy covers purposes such as business, tourism, visiting relatives, and transit.

Foreign Ministry Spokesperson Mao Ning highlighted that travelers not meeting the visa exemption criteria must still obtain a Chinese visa in advance of their travel.

As always, don’t hesitate to reach out to your Newland Chase dedicated contact or submit an inquiry here should you have any specific questions regarding this announcement.

This immigration update is for informational purposes only and is not a substitute for legal or scenario-specific advice. Furthermore, it is important to note that immigration announcements are subject to sudden and unexpected changes. Readers are encouraged to reach out to Newland Case for any case- or company-specific assessments.