Changes to the UK Immigration Rules – July 2013

June 11, 2013

The UK Border Agency has published a new Statement of Changes, HC44, which will introduce a number of minor changes to the UK Immigration Rules. 

The new rules will take effect on the 1st July 2013 and notable points include the following:

  1. Changes to the specified documents required as proof of the applicant has passed an approved English language test;
  2. Clarification that “regulated financial institutions” means those regulated to provide personal savings accounts or student loans;
  3. Additional countries are added to the list of countries that requires TB screening. New countries are: China, Cameroon, Ethiopia,  Gambia, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Macau, Malawi, Morocco, Sierra Leone, and Uganda.  A list of the country”s (or city”s) testing centres are within pages 26 – 38 of the statement of changes;
  4. More legal courses, i.e. LLM, BVC, LPC are exempted from the time limit on study for Tier 4 student visas; and
  5. For a Tier 5 (Religious Worker) extension application there is now no need to complete the  resident labour market test.

For full details of all these and more changes, please see: