GHANA: Visa on Arrival Planned for Nationals of African Union States

March 24, 2016

On 25th February 2016, the Government of Ghana announced that it intends to allow citizens of African Union member states to enter the country without a prior visa, and obtain a visa on arrival for up to thirty days, beginning in July 2016.

What does this mean?

Once the new African Union visa on arrival program is implemented, a national of any African Union member state can visit Ghana from their country of origin or residence without a visa.

This will remove the need for consular visa processing. However, on arrival at the port of entry, an entry permit allowing a stay of up to thirty days will be issued at the discretion of the Immigration Officer on duty.


The African Union (AU), founded in 2001, consists of 54 countries in Africa. The only African state that is not a member is Morocco.

Presently, only nationals of the fifteen countries of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) are visa exempt for travel to Ghana.

Action Points

  • Once this visa on arrival is implemented, African Union member state nationals should benefit from easier travel to Ghana for business and tourism.

Should you require further information on Ghanaian immigration, please email us at