GHANA: Visa on Arrival Programme Introduced for AU Nationals

July 12, 2016

The Ghana Immigration Service (GIS) has announced that it is introducing a “visa on arrival” programme for African Union nationals, whose countries do not currently have a visa free agreement with Ghana. This programme will initially be piloted at Kotoka International Airport for three months, before being rolled out to all other Ghanaian entry points.

What is the African Union?

The African Union (AU) was launched in 2002, replacing the Organisation of African Unity (OAU), with the aim of achieving greater unity and solidarity between the African countries and their people. The AU has 54 members. The only African country that is not a member is Morocco, which left the AU (then the OAU) in 1984.

Who does the visa on arrival programme apply to?

Currently the following countries are exempt from visa requirements to Ghana, as provided by the Ghana High Commission:

Any national of an AU member country whose home country is not listed above, will be eligible to benefit from the visa on arrival programme.

Are there any requirements?

All eligible individuals travelling to Ghana under the visa on arrival programme must provide the following information upon arrival:

  • A passport valid for at least three months from the date of entry
  • A return ticket, or evidence of onward travel
  • Proof of accommodation and adequate funds for the duration of your stay

Provided all of the above requirements are met  a visa will be issued for 30 days.

Please be advised that all individuals entering  Ghana will be subject to the requirements outlined in Section 4 of the Immigration Act, 2000 (Act 573).

Our advice

If you are in any doubt as to whether you are eligible for the visa on arrival programme, we advise you to contact your nearest Ghana High Commission Diplomatic Mission. You can find a list of offices here.

For further advice or information on Ghanaian immigration, please contact us at