INDONESIA: Changes to the Restricted Nationals List

September 15, 2017

The Minister of Law and Human Rights has issued a new regulation for restricted nationals, effective 25th August 2017.

The new regulation updates the list of countries whose nationals must undergo additional vetting to enter and work in Indonesia.

Who is affected?

Nationals of Albania, Angola, Bangladesh, Cuba, Ethiopia, Ghana, Iraq, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Tanzania and Togo have all been removed from the restricted nationals list, and can now apply for visas and work authorisation without having to undergo extra vetting or supply additional justification.

Nationals of Guinea, Liberia and Niger have been added to the list, alongside nationals of countries which were previously on the list.

The full list of restricted nationals is now:

Afghanistan, Cameroon, Guinea, Israel, Liberia, Niger, Nigeria, North Korea, Somalia.

Our Advice

Employers of restricted nationals should be aware that visa and work authorization applications may take much longer and approvals may be very difficult to obtain.

Employers of nationals of countries which have been removed from the restricted list can expect much easier visa and work authorization processes.

For advice and information on Indonesian immigration in general, please email us at [email protected].

This information was provided by our sister company, Peregrine Immigration Management.