MEXICO: Additional Visa Requirement Exemptions Announced

May 26, 2016

On 17th May it was announced that additional categories of visa-required nationals are now exempt from obtaining a visa to enter Mexico for visits of up to 180 days (six months).

Prior to the change this exemption only applied to valid visa holders for the US and permanent residents of the following countries:

  • Canada
  • Japan
  • UK
  • USA
  • Schengen area countries

Following the change, the exemption has now been extended to individuals who hold valid visas to enter any of the above mentioned countries.

It has also been agreed that the exemption be applied to permanent residents of countries that are members of the Pacific Alliance, of which Mexico is also a member. These countries are as follows:

  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Peru

Please note that an individual entering Mexico under these exemptions is permitted to work provided that their contract remains with their home country, and that they are paid from outside of Mexico.

Please be advised that it may be necessary to obtain a Forma Migratoria MĂșltiple (FMM) or “Multiple Immigration Form”, on your entry to Mexico. This can be applied for electronically if travelling to Mexico by air or at border control if travelling by land. All applicants must hold an unexpired passport with at least six month”s validity remaining.

We advise anyone planning to enter Mexico to check their status according to the exemptions above. Please note that if you do not meet the criteria listed above, you will need to apply for a visa to enter Mexico.

For further information on any of the points detailed above, or on Mexican immigration in general, please email us at [email protected].