PERU – Suspension of Visa Exemption for Mexican Ordinary Passport Holders

April 11, 2024

By: Jonathan Fetting

Effective April 24, 2024, the Peruvian visa exemption for Mexican ordinary passport holders for tourist and business visits to Peru will be suspended. Mexican ordinary passport holders who wish to visit Peru for tourism or business purposes must apply for an appropriate visa at the nearest Peruvian diplomatic mission in their country of citizenship or ordinary residence before travel.

However, the following Mexican passport holders remain exempt from tourist and business visa requirements for up to 180 calendar days, either as a continuous visit or several consecutive visits during a one-year period, and are not required to apply for a visa before travel:

The holder of a visa for the United States of America, Canada, United Kingdom, Australia, Japan, or any member state of the Schengen area (see Note 1), with a minimum validity of six months.

The holder of permanent residence status as a foreigner for the United States of America, Canada, United Kingdom, Australia, Japan, any member state of the Schengen area, or any member state of the Pacific Alliance (see Note 2).

Newland Chase insights

The visa exemption suspension by the Peruvian government is in response to the Mexican government’s decision on April 6, 2024, to temporarily suspend the visa exemption enjoyed by Peruvian passport holders for travel to Mexico for tourism or business purposes with effect from April 20, 2024. The decision was taken due to an exponential increase in the number of irregular Peruvian migrants travelling through Mexico to reach the United States and Canada, which has created a humanitarian emergency. It is hoped that this measure will stop migrants from putting their lives, health and human rights at risk.

This immigration update is for informational purposes only and is not a substitute for legal or scenario-specific advice. Furthermore, it is important to note that immigration announcements are subject to sudden and unexpected changes. Readers are encouraged to reach out to Newland Chase for any case or company-specific assessments.
1. The member states of the Schengen area include Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.
2. The member states of the Pacific Alliance, include Chile, Colombia, Mexico and Peru.