QATAR: 30-Day Visa on Arrival Can Only Be Extended Online

November 29, 2017

The Ministry of Interior (MoI) has announced that visitors who have entered Qatar on a 30-day tourist visa on arrival and who wish to extend their stay for another 30 days must do so via a new online portal, rather than through the Airport Passports Department.

Who is affected?

The 46 countries whose nationals can obtain a multiple-entry visa on arrival for stays of up to 30 days (renewable for an additional 30 days), valid for 180 days from the date of issuance, include Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, India, Ireland, Japan, Mexico, New Zealand, Russia, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, the United Kingdom and the United States. See the full list here.

Note that nationals of 34 countries who are eligible for visa-free entry for up to 90 days, for a single or multiple trips, are not able to extend the number of allowable days in the country or the 180-day validity period of their visa-waiver.

Our Advice

Employers sending foreign nationals to Qatar for business or work should consult their Newland Chase immigration specialist to confirm the latest requirements and recommendations.

For advice and information on immigration to Qatar in general, please email us at [email protected].

This information was provided by our sister company Peregrine Immigration Management.