QATAR: Electronic Travel Authorisation for Holders of Certain Visas and Resident Permits

September 21, 2017

Effective 27th September 2017, Qatar will introduce a single-entry electronic travel authorisation, valid for 30 days and renewable once, for holders of valid visas or residence permits from the UK, the US, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, the Schengen countries or the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC).

How does it work?

Nationals of eligible countries can apply online with proof of a valid visa or residence status from one of the countries listed above, proof of accommodation and onward travel, and payment of a fee of USD 14.


A diplomatic and trade boycott of Qatar began in June and is ongoing. Participating countries have cut diplomatic ties with Qatar, imposed travel and trade restrictions on Qatari citizens and goods, and ordered their citizens out of Qatar. Several have closed their airspace and airports to flights to and from Qatar and all flights of state-owned Qatar Airways.

On 2nd August, the Qatari cabinet approved a new law that would allow the Ministry of Interior to grant permanent residency to some foreign nationals already living in the country, continuing Qatar’s recent increasing openness to globalisation, in the face of the ongoing hostility towards the country from some neighbouring nations.

On 9th August 2017 Qatar announced that nationals of 80 countries can enter the country visa-free for stays of up to 30 days or 90 days.

Our Advice

Employers sending foreign nationals to Qatar for business or work should consult their Newland Chase immigration specialist provider to confirm the latest requirements and recommendations.

For advice and information on immigration to Qatar in general, please email us at [email protected].

This information was provided by our sister company, Peregrine Immigration Management.