TAIWAN: New Visa Exemptions for Nationals of Latin American and Caribbean Countries

July 19, 2017

From 12th July 2017, nationals of eleven countries in Latin America and the Caribbean are now eligible for visa-free entry to Taiwan for either 30 or 90 days.

Who qualifies?

  • Nationals of Belize, the Dominican Republic, Guatemala, Saint Vincent, Saint Kitts and Nevis and Saint Lucia are visa-exempt for 30 days
  • Nationals of Paraguay, El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras and Nicaragua are visa-exempt for 90 days
  • To qualify, travellers must hold a passport valid for at least six months and proof of return or onward travel


The measures extend Taiwan’s recent strategy of strengthening economic relationships with South and Southeast Asian countries, known as the “New Southbound Policy”, introduced on 1st August 2016. See our previous alert on this here and here.

Our advice

Business travellers to Taiwan from Latin American and Caribbean countries, and their employers, should consult a visa specialist to confirm the latest entry requirements.

For advice and information on Taiwanese immigration, please email us at enquiries@newlandchase.com.

This information was provided by our sister company, Peregrine Immigration Management.