UNITED KINGDOM – Countries Added to Visa List

July 24, 2023

Effective 19 July 2023 an updated Statement of Changes was published by the UK Government updating the visa national list under Appendix Visitor. The following countries now form part of the visa national list:

  • Dominica
  • Honduras
  • Namibia
  • Timor-Leste
  • Vanuatu

Citizens of the affected countries may still travel to the UK without a visa if they have a travel booking that was made before 15:00 BST on 19 July 2023; however they must arrive on or before 16 August 2023.

There is a 4-week transition period for any nationals included within the changes who scheduled their UK travel prior to 3:00 PM on 19 July 2023 and will arrive in the UK by no later than 16 August 2023, whereby they are exempt from the requirement.

Those individuals affected by the changes without an existing confirmed travel booking who were intending to travel within up until 16 August, will need to ensure a visa in place prior to UK travel. Future visitors will need to factor visa preparation times, costs and processing times into their plans.


Newland Chase Insights

If you have any compliance queries on the above or which are more nuanced please contact us directly on [email protected]. For general advice and information on immigration and business travel to the UK, please contact us.

This immigration update is for informational purposes only and is not a substitute for legal or scenario-specific advice. Furthermore, it is important to note that immigration announcements are subject to sudden and unexpected changes. Readers are encouraged to reach out to Newland Chase for any case- or company-specific assessments.